Summer Backlog

This summer really did not go as I had originally planned. My first job did not work out, so I ended up coming back to CA for about a month, right in the prime time of high sierra trout fishing. Even though the conditions of my return were not optimal, I took advantage of the time I got to spend back home, and spent a large amount of time exploring the waters that made fly fishing so special to me in the first place. After dating for almost 3 years, the opportunity to take my GF Shelby fishing finally arose so we went exploring around the northern sierras for a while.

We spent a few days exploring a creek nearby and had a great time, caught a bunch of fish, found some really cool spots and thoroughly enjoyed our time together!

Shortly after the trip I accepted a position guiding at Rapids Camp Lodge for the remainder of the season and arrived in King Salmon on June 21st. This lodge is by far the best place I have ever worked at. The facilities are outstanding, the staff are all great folks, and the equipment is all very well maintained.

Each employee of the lodge gets their own cabin, a luxury that is not commonly found at most lodges in Alaska. They had everything you need to survive. A comfy bed, desk for your comp or fly tying vise, and storage for all the gear that goes along with being a fly fishing guide.

Rapids Camp has 5 planes right now, 3 Beavers, 1 Otter, and a Cessna Conquest. Having these planes makes accessing the best spots in southwest alaska a breeze. Due to having out turbine otter, we can access locations at much greater distances than usually available to other lodges.

We fished all over the place, places with names like moraine, kvichak, brooks, naknek and many other legendary waters of alaska. The fishing is not the only thing that really brings folks up here, its also the amazing scenery and the bears. Brooks is very close to the lodge, about a 20 minute flight in good weather, and it has some of the most amazing bear viewing you could imagine when the sockeye are running through.

Since I have a whole summer of info to share, instead of just rambling I am going to throw a bunch of my favorite pictures from the season up….

I hope you enjoyed my pictures as much as I enjoyed being there to take them!

Lately there have been some very interesting things going on in my world, and if i find the inspiration ill keep writing!!

–Tayler

About taylerwells

fly fishing guide in california and alaska student pursuing a career in the DFW
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Summer Backlog

  1. Rhonda Agee says:

    Beautiful pictures Tay. I’m so glad things are going so well for you. Good luck on your new job. Love you, Auntie

  2. Norma says:

    Please keep writing, you do a great commentary. Love the pictures.

  3. Auntie Sissy says:

    Tay, it’s all so absolutely gorgeous. Thanks for sharing!

  4. taylerwells says:

    well thanks everyone! the feedback is appreciated!

Leave a Reply

