Keeping it Local

20140506-095006.jpg

Over the past weekend I went to a new area of the 50-80 gap, and found some pretty cool things. Using the 1wt I found lots of willing small rainbows, as well as a few small browns. I hiked up the the big tank depicted in the picture above, and found a nice bow sitting on the surface actively eating small emerging mayflies.

Sitting well above the fish, probably 30 feet, I laid my offering down on the surface and he ate my pheasant nymph. Fought him all the way back down the where the pool tailed out and landed him. A beautiful back country rainbow.

20140507-231654.jpg

A few minutes later, I made my way another 50 feet up the ridge, and spotted a nice brown cruising the pool. After putting her off with my first cast, a intercepted her path by casting ahead, missile lock came on and up from the depths she rocketed to attack my foam stone!

Same plan as with the last fish, and I got her to hand!

20140507-231933.jpg

All in all a good day in the back country!

Will be headed that way after I get through class on Thursday.

TW

20140507-232033.jpg

About taylerwells

fly fishing guide in california and alaska student pursuing a career in the DFW
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Keeping it Local

  1. Norma says:

    Love your writings.

Leave a Reply

