The Anticipation

My bags are packed, the shopping is done, and I have been tying bugs for the past month in preparation. The 5wts are stacked in the corner with fresh lines, and the fly boxes are all full. The anticipation is killing me.

All trips are fun, but there is something about the anticipation of a fishing trip with a good buddy that is not matched by anything else. The feeling in my chest right now is one of my favorites. The fishing could be great. Or it could be tough. In my career as a guide in California and Alaska, it is an expectation of your employer to go to water that you may not have recent experience on and catch fish. Sometimes this is s stressful feeling, as some clients have many thousands of dollars invested in their trip, and therein hold high expectations.

Not this time. This time I get to be selfish. The only person I have to share water with is one of the best fly anglers I have had the pleasure to fish with. Bet your butt I wont be untangling his dropper rigs.

Pray that the stones are up for me!

See you on the water.

TW

About taylerwells

fly fishing guide in california and alaska student pursuing a career in the DFW
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Anticipation

  1. Norma says:

    Enjoy! love your writings!

Leave a Reply

